No Smoking Quotes

  • “I’m more proud of quitting smoking than of anything else I’ve done in my life, including winning an Oscar.”- Christine Lahti
  • “Cigarette smoking is clearly identified as the chief, preventable cause of death in our society.” – C. Everett Koop, former Surgeon General
  • “I don’t smoke and I don’t want to smoke. I am not a fan of gratuitous smoking in films.”- Edward Norton
  • “You’re always better off if you quit smoking; it’s never too late.”- Loni Anderson
  • “Seven out of 10 people don’t smoke and of those who do, seven out of 10 want to give up.” – Scottish Health Minister Andy Kerr
  • “Fortunately, there’s more than one way to quit smoking. . . the catch is you must choose wisely to become smoke-free.” – Arthur A. Hawkins II
  • “The true face of smoking is disease, death and horror – not the glamour and sophistication the pushers in the tobacco industry try to portray.”- David Byrne
  • “Many lives can be saved by strengthening tobacco control measures — cigarette taxes, counter-advertising, smoking bans, linguistically and culturally appropriate smoking prevention measures, and quit-smoking programs.” – Bruce N. Leistikow, associate professor of public health sciences and a leading expert on smoking-related illnesses
  • “Habit is stronger than reason.” – George Sanayana
  • “Smoking kills half of all lifetime smokers.” – Dr. Alex Bobak of the anti-smoking group SCAPE
  • “One of the great regrets of my life is that I smoked. If I could say anything to anybody starting out in life it would be, ‘Whatever you do, don’t smoke’. I have had to recover from that and been lucky that I have been able to stop.” – Bill Nighy, star in the UK on his 30-year smoking habit ‘Boat That Rocked’ star (Daily Telegraph newspaper)
  • “Quitting smoking is easy, I’ve done it a thousand times.” – Mark Twain
  • “Exercise can’t counteract the damage being done to your body while you continue to smoke. What exercise can do is help you kick the habit.” – Kenneth H. Cooper, MD
  • “It is clear that medical costs will increase if non-smoking spreads. It’s better that people smoke a lot and die early.” – A doctor at Ida Hospital in Kawasaki City, Japan (He later apologized.)
  • “There are six components of wellness: proper weight and diet, proper exercise, breaking the smoking habit, control of alcohol, stress management and periodic exams.”- Kenneth H. Cooper
  • “It’s disgraceful that year after year, Congress has bowed to the tobacco lobby and refused to act.” – Senator Edward Kennedy (MA) On seeking FDA regulatory power over tobacco. . .
  • “There are enough no smoking places now. “- David Hockney
  • “Well, I decided to stop. And I did. I stopped smoking, and I stopped speed at the same time.” – Larry Hagman
  • “There are no crowds out there demanding to see smoking scenes in movies.”- Joe Eszterhas
  • “The results of this survey are shocking and should be a wake-up call to men and women that drinking and smoking too much not only gives you a bad headache in the morning but can affect your ability to start a family.”- Ann Robinson
  • “What I really remember is that people camped out everywhere, and the fact everybody expected it might turn into a big nightmare with all sorts of hassles because back in those days everybody was smoking pot and taking acid.”- Johnney Rivers
  • “Seventy-five percent of women who smoke would like to quit, and yet only two to three percent quit every year… It’s significant because we can help women quit smoking.”- David Satcher
  • “Parents should not smoke in order to discourage their kids from smoking. A child is more likely to smoke when they have been raised in the environment of a smoker.”- Christy Turlington
  • “Smoking is hateful to the nose, harmful to the brain, and dangerous to the lungs.”- King James I
  • “Such lifestyle factors such as cigarette smoking, excessive alcohol consumption, little physical activity and low dietary calcium intake are risk factors for osteoporosis as well as for many other non-communicable diseases.”- Gro Harlem Brundtland
  • “Impotence is one of the major hazards of cigarette smoking.”- Loni Anderson
  • “I think the reason kids get into drugs and smoking is they don’t have anything to do.”- Richard Thompson
  • “I kissed my first girl and smoked my first cigarette on the same day.  I haven’t had time for tobacco since.”- Arturo Toscanini
  • “The best way to stop smoking is to just stop – no ifs, ands or butts.”- Edith Zittler
  • “I’d rather kiss a mad cow on the muzzle than a smoker on the mouth.” – Paul Carvel
  • “Smoking helps you lose weight – one lung at a time!” – Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
